Juniors’ Night

482047_10200477804010230_1703842484_n

Weeks ago (though I’m not exactly sure how many), my batch had a Juniors’ Night themed “The Ritz” which is centralized around America at around the 1920’s. It was a rewarding and amazing night for me, the girl who dreaded the day that she would be forced to dress up and put on make-up. I’ve always hated dresses and putting on foundation and blushes makes me feel like I’ve got a face — on my face. Nevertheless, all my efforts paid off because I had one of the greatest nights of my life with yummy food, good friends, a great date, and an unexpected award.

However, most of the excitement happens BEFORE the big night wherein important preparations are taking place such as picking the prom dress and asking the date. I wasn’t at all excited about picking my dress because first of all, I despise wearing such things. However, at the boutique with my mom, I fell “in love” with a dress at first glance. The dress that caught my eye was a simple one: a flesh lacy dress with long sleeves. Simple, comfortable, and decent for a formal night — I hit the jackpot.

Picking the date, however, wasn’t as easy as falling in love at first sight with a dress. It took a huge amount of guts, a bit of rejection, a dash of bitterness, and eventually a sprinkle of luck to top the whole endeavor of getting a prom date. There’s no need to spill the long story of how I got turned down at first but I ended up asking someone a whole lot better and funnier anyways.

In all honesty, I thought that the dress and the date were the only two things to worry about but lo and behold, here comes the other things such as transportation, the buttounniere for the date (which I unfortunately never had the time to buy), and after-prom activities. I got by anyhow with a little help from the people who actually knew what to do.

The big night however, can’t be described in mere words but all I can say is that it was pretty wild. Many of my batchmates went out of their comfort zones and danced their heart out, those who were normally shy bloomed in their pretty dresses, and those who were forever hungry got to eat their heart out. What was really unexpected though, was the award I received, along with my prom date. “Life of the party” — When the emcees were announcing the winners, I was leaning against a table to rest my aching feet and staring into a blank abyss of nostalgia and (at the same time) pain so it didn’t quite sink in quickly. “Anchilia Diamante!” I almost didn’t recognize my own name (well, a lot of people mispronounce it anyways) but I got the hint when a spotlight shone on me and people looked at me as if I won the “Most Clueless” award. In a state of both shock and doubt, I went forward with my date and we were both asking ourselves, “What is happening??” We both couldn’t believe that out of all the couples in that place, we were donned to be the life of the party. Nevertheless, I felt ultimately happy that my charm worked (kidding).

It’s pretty awkward to say that I’ve been dreaming of having a non-romantic but romantic (yes, it’s that complicated) High School Musical moment since the movie musical came out. That night, I had mine. “Can I Have This Dance” was the slow dance for the prom king and queen and after a while, the other winners were asked to join the dance. Being a slow reactor to everything, I didn’t know what was happening. The next thing I knew was that my prom date offered me his hand and we proceeded to the dancefloor to (well,) dance. It was awkward yet absolutely wonderful to dance with a good friend and sing along to the well-beloved HSM song.

The events that happened after are all a blur but I remember: dancing with my friends like there’s no tomorrow, removing my dreadful heels and walking in flats to annoy the others, eating two huge bowls of ice cream at Manila Peninsula, and feeling as if I was drunk (but I didn’t drink anything but Coke) on the ride home because I was that tired.

If it weren’t for the unhealthy effects of heels on one’s feet, I could’ve danced all night.

Leave a Reply

